So over at BenGallagher.com, Ben posted an interesting article on who the registered owner of the St Stephen the Greatofficial website domain - ststephentrust.org.uk – was registered to and was trading as. Actually its an interesting and funny article - I found it quite amusing how he puts forward an amusing and hypothetical view of Mark Brewer, that Lawyer from Houston who is a Very Private Man, summoning up 40 dead martyr guys and having a meeting at which they agree to registering the domain name. It really is an amusing article.
However given all that I thought that I would bring this to you all as it’s entirely possible that this is the more accurate lot who have registered the site and own the domain!
http://40martyrs.org/joomla/index.php
This is a nice new and large church (or so it looks from the pics and plans) based out in Sugar Land, Texas – ain’t that sweet! – Sugar Land by the way is a Suburb of Houston for those who aren’t US situated.
So the question, given they are listed as the registrant and it therefore would seem to say that St Stephen the Great is part of their trading endeavours, is how are they connected to the UK regsitered charity, and how come their regsitered address is that of Mr Mark Brewer’s houston Law offices, Brewer & Pritchard – BP Law? and not their own Sugar Land address?
Is this yet another charity registered through these offices, rather like the Orthodox Mission Fund of Houston, St Stephen The Great or SSG LLC? Is it one of Mark Brewer’s projects for the mission and work of the Orthodox community? or is the 40 Holy Martyrs Church a client of Brewer & Pritchard, PC. directly and therefore the registrants address is the legal law offices of bplaw.com? One assumes they know they have been linked to another charity and if so one wonders what are their thoughts at a time when the said charity they are linked to through this domain registration is going through Bankruptcy proceedings and all the other tribunals and issues that are linked with them in the UK. Intersting isn’t it – Perhaps someone from the church or one of the other parties would like to clarify things and give an official statement.
I will of course post anything that is sent to me onto this blog.
Here’s another link: the post ‘CS Lewis, the reluctant convert’, on the website of the orthodox church in Poole
http://orthodoxpoole.org.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=23&Itemid=35 – one of the churches purchased by SSG, is identical to an article on the ‘40 martyrs’ website:
http://40martyrs.org/joomla/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=40&Itemid=51
The 2 websites – Poole and 40 martyrs – are based on the same template, and seem to have a few other things in common (e.g. on behaviour in church), so there is a bit of a ‘family likeness’ between the 2.